Review: Tenemos que hablar de Kevin

Posted on Actualizado enn

Tenemos que hablar de Kevin
Tenemos que hablar de Kevin by Lionel Shriver
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I felt rather annoyed with this book for the most part. Sure, we basically know the aftermath since the beginning and are only lacking some details but it felt like after the first 20 pages or so the author had ran out of ideas properly and just kept going around in circles. Ok, so yeah, Eva was deeply unhappy since the beginning (some might say exceedingly paranoid, that, too, if it weren’t because she actually was right); Franklin is quite frankly stupid, frustratingly so, even if well intended and with his ever want-to-believe posture, but I just felt like slapping the hell out of him throughout the whole book and Celia was… well, weird, I can’t truly think of anybody just being so apologetical as she was. That being said all characters were quite plain, even Kevin. All that resulted in nearly six hundred pages of bore. If it weren’t for a few tidbits that quite surprised me I’d have gone with a two stars rating; actually, it was only because the real turning point of the book quite managed to surprise me that I decided to grant it one more star.

View all my reviews

Responder

