Review: World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War

Posted on

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War
World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War by Max Brooks
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have to admit I was pleasantly surprised by this book, I didn’t even intend to read it and only happened to have due to a series of unrelated events… so there it was, lying in my eternal to-read pile and I decided I might as well read it now that I owned it, not that I really cared that much about it. I used to see this book as a typical mass-market, more-of-the-same best-seller… I was wrong. It is an extraordinarly good book, I particularly loved the way in which it is written but I also felt that was sort of its lackluster (actually, I consider the rating to be more of a 4.5 stars) because it allows us to see the war in a very personal, detailed, deep and original way, we get to know an enormous amout of details we just wouldn’t know of otherwise… the problem is, this way we don’t actually get a linear story and there’s no actual “increase in tension” no climax or resolution of cliffhanger… you get to suffer and feel empathy but I didn’t get any actual ‘hype’ as would be expected with a kind of book and genre. All of that made this book feel more like a companion book, like all the action was happening elsewhere but still it was a highly enjoyable one. Another thing I didn’t like was the ‘reporter’, while he gets some interesting insights such as in his conversation in Siberia, most of the time he’s reduced to asking the meaning of acronyms and that feels rather dull.

View all my reviews

Responder

